Gaffer tape is one of the most useful tools in any photographer or filmmaker’s bag. It comes in handy for so many things, and just to make sure I’ve always got some with me, I keep a roll in each of my bags. And I can’t remember the last time I did a shoot where I didn’t need it for something. In this 2-minute video from filmmaker Burke Cullinane we see 10 great ways to use gaffer tape on set.

These obviously aren’t gaffer tape’s only uses, but these are all pretty common tasks that filmmakers and photographers should know.

Securing laid cableAttaching gels to lightsLabelling stuffSpiking and marking the floorFixing stuff (even if temporarily)Hanging stuffFixing ripped jeans or other clothesAttaching stuffTaping down noisy moving stuffRemove lint & hair from clothes

That last one does go a lot quicker with an actual lint roller, but gaffer tape will do the job in a pinch. One of my own biggest uses for gaffer tape, aside from those mentioned above, is to keep things closed. Several of the small cases I have for various pieces of equipment, as well as battery cases, have a tendency to flip open on their own while rolling around inside a bag. Gaffer tape helps to keep them closed when I don’t need them, and easy to take off when I want to get inside. It also means that I’ve always got a few short strips handy and available whenever I do need to use them for something else. There are far more uses than just these and take a look here for 50 more ways to use gaffer tape. What’s your favourite use for gaffer tape that hasn’t been mentioned? [via No Film School]